ccqadmin's picture

Welsh Music Prize has recently announced the twelve albums nominated for 2016. Created in 2011 by BBC Radio 1 DJ, Huw Stephens, and music promoter, John Rostron, the Welsh Music Prize champions the best original music in Wales. Previous winners have included Gwenno Saunders, Future of the Left and Super Furry Animals’ Gruff Rhys.

Cate Le Bon


The 2016 contenders are:

Winners of Best Album at the 2015 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards for their second album, Tincian9Bach have been shortlisted for their 2016 album Anian.

Alun Gaffey, former member of psychedelic pop and indie band, Race Horses, is on the shortlist for his debut, self-titled, solo album.

The bilingual singer-songwriter and previous Welsh Music Prize nominee, Cate Le Bon is up for her fourth album, Crab Day.

Pontypridd’s Cymrucana four-piece and BBC Introducing regulars Climbing Trees, have been nominated for their second album, Borders.

Welsh rockers, Datblygu have been making music since the early eighties; their 2015 album is competing for the award.

Pitting against his former Race Horses band member, Meilyr Jones is on the list for his first solo venture, 2013.

The alt folk band Plu which represented Wales at Folk Alliance International, Kansas City, in February, is nominated for album Tir a Golau. They are the second Sbrigyn Ymborth label album on the list along with Alun Gaffey.

Right Hand Left Hand, a rock duo who have been on the live music scene for more than a decade, are hoping for a win with their 2016 self-titled album.

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time is the debut solo album from Simon Love, formerly of The Loves, a John Peel and Marc Riley favourite.

Newport’s metal-reggae-dubstep rockers Skindred already have a number of titles including Best Live Band at the 2011 UK Metal Hammer 'Golden Gods' awards, and the 2011 Kerrang! Devotion Award. Their album, Volume is now up for Welsh Music Prize 2016.

Swnami, winners of this year’s Welsh Language Album of the Year award at this year's National Eisteddfod, have had their self-titled album put forward for its second award of the year.

And last but not least, debut album, Confessions of a Romance Novelist from singer, songwriter and storyteller Catherine Anne Davies, aka The Anchoress, is the final contender.



One winner will be chosen by the panel consisting of: Amy Wadge (songwriter and musician), Ashli Todd (Spillers Records), Derek Lloyd (hmv), Dwynwen Morgan (BBC Radio Cymru), Gwyn Eiddior (Y Nyth and BBC Horizons), Jen Long (DICE), Lowri Cooke (cultural critic), Neal Thompson (Focus Wales), Nici Beech (artistic curator and TV producer), Noel Gardner (Buzz Magazine), Oliver Morris (UK Music) and Sarah Dennehy (Festival of Voice).

The Welsh Music Prize 2016 will be held on Thursday 24 November 2016 at The Depot, Cardiff.

Tickets are on sale now through, and follow @welshmusicprize for more information.